Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization Preparatory Commission

The Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization, or CTBTO Preparatory Commission is an international organization based in Vienna, Austria, which is responsible for establishing the oversight regime of the Nuclear-Test-Ban Convention complete (CTB). . The agency was founded in 1996 by the signatories of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT). Its main objectives are twofold: to promote the entry into force of the CTBT and to establish a comprehensive nuclear test ban control regime. entry into force of the treaty. The Preparatory Committee of the CTBTO being a temporary body, after the implementation of the CTBTO, it will be dissolved and replaced by the CTBTO, all assets being transferred to the CTBTO. This amendment will take place after the first Conference of the Parties, which will take place after the entry into force of the Agreement. To implement the agreement, the CTBT must be ratified by the following countries: China, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Egypt, India, Iran (Islamic State), Israel, Pakistan and the United States. It will enter into force 180 days after these countries have ratified the agreement.