UN Agency

United Nations Special Organizations are international organizations that coordinate their work with the United Nations by negotiating agreements. The United Nations is part of the United Nations system, which, in addition to the United Nations, comprises a number of chapters, programs and specialized agencies, each with its own area of ​​responsibility, leadership and budget. Programs and funds are financed by voluntary contributions rather than assessed contributions. Specialized agencies are independent international organizations funded by voluntary contributions and assessed. The United Nations coordinates its work with these separate entities of the United Nations system, which work with the organization to help it achieve its goals. The Charter lists specific organizations in Chapter IX, International Economic and Social Cooperation, Chapter X, Economic and Social Council. There are 17 specialized companies:

FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
ILO: International Labour Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunication Union
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
World Bank Group
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
IDA: International Development Association
IFC: International Finance Corporation

The specialized agencies of the United Nations are international organizations cooperating with the United Nations in accordance with agreements on relations between each organization and the United Nations. All specialist offices have a process for recruiting members and appointing an administrator. Article 58 of the Charter states that the United Nations “shall make recommendations for the coordination of the policies and activities of the specialized agencies”. Coordination is facilitated by ECOSOC and the Board of Governors (CEB). Reference is sometimes made to 15 specialized offices, as the World Bank Group, which is now considered an organization, is partly made up of three specialized organizations.